Who takes this course?
As a condition for reinstatement of your driver’s license or permit following a suspension is your participation in an approved Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education Course. Drivers between the ages of 15 and 24 who have received 2 violations within 24 months, or who received a violation under the Zero Tolerance Law and received a suspension of their driver’s license, are required by the State of Illinois to complete the Driver Remedial Education course.
What is the cost?
The cost is $100 for drivers needing the course to fulfill the State-ordered Graduate to Safety Remedial Education Course requirement. Students receive an additional $10 off if they pre-register with us. Walk-ins are welcome, please check back at the website to make sure the class is still in session if you don’t pre-register. We accept cash and credit cards. Payments made by credit card is subjected to an additional .03% processing fee.
Northwestern Driving School is not responsible for drivers taking the incorrect class. Drivers will not be given a refund if the class has been completed. Please be sure you know exactly what class is required before you continue the registration process.
How will I know if I am required to complete this course?
If you are being required by the State to complete the course, a notification letter will be mailed to you from the Illinois Secretary of State Driver Services Department.
May I bring anyone with me to class?
No. Only students with special needs may attend class with a family member or friend who is of legal driving age. Please notify us before your class if you need such assistance.
What if I feel that I am not responsible for a violation reported on my driver record?
Questions regarding violations and driver records must be addressed with the Illinois Secretary of State. Please visit cyberdriveillinois.com for more information.
How can I register for this course?
Call us at 773-465-3430 or use the Contact Us form on our website.
What do I need to bring to class with me?
Students will need to bring some form of identification, such as their driver’s license, permit, school ID or birth certificate, their confirmation notice, and a pen or pencil.
What happens if there is a class cancellation?
In the event of a cancellation, Northwestern Driving will attempt to contact you at the daytime telephone number provided during the registration process. If you are unsure about a weather-related cancellation, please contact the program services staff at (847) 647-4554.
What happens if I fail the course?
We have a very high success rate and in the unlikely event of a failure the student can come back and take the class again for FREE! This only applies to students who have not failed the class due to rules/conduct.
Rules of Operation and Conduct Policy
A student may be dismissed or barred from the class for tardiness, intoxication, consumption of controlled substances on the premises, rudeness, vulgar or disruptive behavior, carrying firearms or smoking in the classroom or building, or for inattentiveness such as sleeping, cell phone usage, reading materials not contained in the course instruction, etc., during the class. Students dismissed for violating rules of conduct may be readmitted at the discretion of the NWDS and the Ilinois Secretary of State.